Guess who’s coming to dinner…


Bob and Rita at a performance...


My birthday is coming up soon and my biggest, craziest birthday wish is to have dinner with the following people:

1. Alice Walker The woman who opened my 12-year-old eyes to the concepts of feminism and strength of character. Her books are a big part of who I am now and they paint a vivid picture of the woman I want to be one day.  In fact my first encounter with the Traditionalism VS Feminism topic was in her book Possessing the Secret of Joy, where she writes about an African girl who willingly goes through a painful tribal rite-of-passage in the name of preserving her cultural heritage amidst the colonization of her country. Its a harrowing piece that really changed the way i looked at what it means to be an African Woman.

2. Bob Marley I think by now everyone thats close to me knows just how huge my obsession with Bob Marley is. I love his music a great deal and more than anything i loved his way of life. I’d love to sit with him and pick his brain about a lot of issues, biggest of all Black Conciousness. But to be honest, if i ever did meet him I probably wouldn’t be able to say a single thing…I’d be so nervous and shit-scared of saying soemthing embarrassing. I’d be content to stare and just bask in his glory. Thats how much of a little girl i am. haha…

3. Steve Biko I once almost got arrested for trying to steal a compilation of articles he wrote called ‘I Write What I Like’ from CNN so its clear just how much i admire the man. Steve Biko was one of South Africa’s most significant political activists and a leading founder of South Africa’s Black Consciousness Movement and is consequenlty the man that answered all my questions regarding my identity as a black woman and what i feel that entails. I would say he is the number one reason i believe that the black South Africans really did not ‘win’ when the apartheid government was abolished. He made me see that the South Africa today is not the South Africa the freedom fighters were fighting for. I think the South Africans just became lazy. In any case…I’d love to have a discussion with this guy about it.

4. Rita Marley She is a strong woman and i would feel lucky to be in the presence of such a ‘feisty’ Rastafari woman! She’s inspired me to aspire to live a simple, organic and spiritual life. (Which will start when I’m a bit older…haha)

5. Wole Soyinka He is a Nigerian poet and activist whom i only just recently learned about. But Jesus, I love his charisma. He has the most amazing energy that you can’t help but feed off…you know. He won the Nobel Prize in Literature in 1986, the first African to be so honoured. Soyinka has played an active role in Nigeria’s political history. He actually held up a radio station in 1965 demanding the cancellation of the rigged Western Nigeria Regional Elections! If thats not a brilliant fighting spirit then i don’t know what is. A great deal of his writing has been concerned with “the oppressive boot and the irrelevance of the colour of the foot that wears it”.

6. Wangari Maathai If this isn’t a strong woman then there aren’t any. The one person on this list who has little to do with balck conciousness, Wangari was a great environmentalist and more than anything she was a FIGHTER, in the true sense of the word. In 2004 she became the first African woman to receive the Nobel Peace Prize for “her contribution to sustainable development, democracy and peace.” In 1971, she became the first Eastern African woman to receive a Ph.D., when she was granted a Doctorate of Anatomy. In 1977 her husband, Mwangi Mathai, left her. After a lengthy separation, in 1979 he sued for divorce, saying she was too strong-minded for a woman and that he was unable to control her. She fought her government fiercly for the conservation of the forests in Kenya and, to me, represents everything a feminist should be; determination and overwhelming inner-strength.

7. Paul Simon Any man that can write lyrics that i consider to be the most beautiful and amazing in the history of music has got to be amazing at dinner conversation. It would do my spirit good to meet this man.

This is where my list ends. There are a lot more people that i admire but if i met all these people; i’d die content.

WHO’S ON YOUR GUEST LIST?

Leave a Reply

  • Hey, you.

    Thank you for reading through the ole b.l.o.g. I hope that you have been thoroughly satisfied. Let me know what you have for lunch, hey? Cheers.
